5 Comments

It was so difficult in the teenage years and then in adulthood to be myself because I felt threatened by others. They didn't like me the way I was becoming and I wasn't confident enough to be who I am. When I learned to challenge their views and fit into my reality, everything started falling into place.

Expand full comment

It's terrifying to be yourself in a world that constantly encourages us to change ourselves with XYZ. I think the people-pleasing tendencies of people who are raised and socialized as women run so deep it's impossible to separate what the world tells us our role is from what we as individuals actually want. Challenging 'traditional' (patriarchal) narratives and expectations is one of the ways we can start to understand that. Being bald helps too ;-)

Expand full comment